22/10/2022 at 20:00

The program Melancholia invites you to experience inner peace and contemplation.

Tickets (**20 EUR/person) can be purchased by cash at the venue or online.

/**With this amount your are 100% supporting the musicians./


Wouter De Bruycker Fine Arts & Gallery – ‘The Annex’  , Lange Koepoortstraat 64., 2000 Antwerp

About the Antwerp String Ensemble (ASE):

The ASE is a string chamber orchestra a founded in 2022 by Shuya Tanaka and Lucas Van Vlierberghe. 

Unistada, the new composition for cello solo and string ensemble by Van Vlierberghe was dedicated to cellist Shuya Tanaka and marked the beginning of their collaboration.

This work resulted in the formation of ASE and the first Melancholia concert series. Van Vlierberghe and Tanaka both studied at Antwerp’s Royal Conservatoire at the same time. Tanaka studied cello while Van Vlierberghe studied composition and conducting. They had already collaborated during their studies. Van Vlierberghe, for example, dedicated his first cello suite to him.

Their goal

One of their main goals is to help young musicians gain professional experience while also growing as an ensemble. This collaboration aims to contribute to the Antwerp musical and cultural scene and beyond.


Serenade for Strings Pezzo in forma di Sonatina – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)

Contemplation – Lucas Van Vlierberghe (1995°)

Kol Nidrei for Violoncello Solo and String Orchestra – Max Bruch (1838-1920)

Unistada for Violoncello Solo and String Orchestra – Lucas Van Vlierberghe (1995°)

Holberg Suite – Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)

List of musicians


    • Anna Popil

    • Kasper Delrue

    • Ise Dolhain

    • Hanon Inatomi

Inatomi Violas

    • Paloma Pérez Garcia

    • Lucía Gil


    • Cèlia Brunet

    • Vladislav Glushchenko

Double bas

    • Flo Driesen

Cello solo: Shuya Tanaka

Composer/Conductor: Lucas Van Vlierberghe